National Curriculum Maths must be taught in all state governed primary schools and secondary schools in England and Wales. Your child will be taught all the skills they need to know in maths. For example in younger years such as key stage 1 (KS1) they are taught foundation maths skills such as addition and subtraction of numbers from 1 to 20. This provides the skills needed for later years where they are taught about algebra and fractions. What your child learns in school will be tested on via SATs in years 2 and 6. In 2016, new tests will be brought in for children in years 1 and 5. There are no formal SATs for key stage 3.


Early years

Between the ages of 3-5, children will be in nursery and reception. There is not a strict national curriculum maths for what is taught in early years. However, the government does set detailed guidelines to early years practitioners because the skills learnt at this stage lay the foundation for all other key stages. Your child will be taught basic counting skills along with basic skills about shape. For example your child we will be taught to count from 1 to 20 and place them in order.


National Curriculum Maths

Key stage 1 (KS1)

In KS1 children are formally introduced to the national curriculum maths. Children aged 5-6 are in year 1, children aged 6-7 are in year 2. The skills learnt in year 2 should build upon the skills learnt in year 1. Your child is taught a broader range of skills and they are introduced to new areas of Maths. For example your children will be taught about addition and subtraction along with multiplication and division. They are taught to add and subtract from numbers 1 to 20. Your children are also taught more in-depth about shape, for example they are taught to recognise and name common 2D and 3D shapes.


Key Stage 2 (KS2)

KS2 is separated into two bands.  Children in years 3 and 4 are in lower KS2; children in years 5 and 6 are in upper KS2.

In lower Key Stage 2 your child is once again introduced to a wider spectrum of maths skills. Included in these are fractions and decimals. Your child should be taught to recognise common fractions and be to add fractions with the same denominator. The skills learnt in younger years will also be taught in more depth. Lower KS2 acts as a bridge between KS1 and upper KS2.

In upper key stage 2, these skills learnt should be refined and consolidated. Problems will become more complex for your children to solve. For example in addition and subtraction your child will be taught how to add and subtract numbers of four digits. In measures, your child should be taught to convert between different units of metric measure.


Key Stage 3 (KS3)

Children in years 7-9 are in KS3. In KS3 your child is introduced to new content such as algebra. Additionally, the skills your child has learnt in previous years are enhanced. For example your child is taught formula to calculate the area and perimeter of shape and about the use of Pythagoras Theorem. These skills learnt in KS3 will be supported by those learnt throughout younger years of the national curriculum maths.


To read the full national curriculum maths follow these links:
Early Years
Key Stage 1 & 2
Key Stage 3